Life Is What You Make It!

“Life in part is what you make of it… in parting it is what it makes out of you.” – Janice Markowitz

It is so true that I get out of life what I put into it. If I am often angry, stressed, and short with others, I will find that life often times seems combative, and filled with anger and stress. But if I keep a positive attitude, and look for the joy and wonder in life, I will find life to be joy-filled and wondrous. Additionally, as Janice points out rather eloquently, it also determines the person I will become when my time on Earth is through.

As I grow, develop, and mature, I find that my time here is more wisely spent. For just as I had learned the value of saving money and spending it wisely, over the years, I too have learned how to better spend my time here in life. What kind of value do I add to my days? What kind of value do I add to the days of those I care about? Would I do anything differently if I could live those days over again? These are wonderful introspective questions to help drive us towards living our lives to the fullest.

If I look at the rest of my life with the perspective of a book, and map out the chapters in a table of contents, I find it much easier to focus on the fact that my book is already in progress, that there are only so many chapters available between now and the final chapters of my life. So how will I choose to write those chapters? How am I going to live my life today, and what person am I going to become when I part from this life?

Find something that does not take much time at all, but is truly enjoyable, and do it as often as you can each day.

Questions to consider:

If you had life to live over, what would you do more of? What would you do less of?

What is keeping you from doing those things more, or less?

How can you help to concentrate on the importance of each moment in life?

For further thought:

“Someone asked me the other day if I had my life to live over would I change anything. My answer was no, but then I thought about it and changed my mind. If I had my life to live over again I would have waxed less and listened more. Instead of wishing away nine months of pregnancy and complaining about the shadow over my feet, I’d have cherished every minute of it and realized that the wonderment growing inside me was to be my only chance in life to assist God in a miracle. I would never have insisted the car windows be rolled up on a summer day because my hair had just been teased and sprayed. I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained and the sofa faded. I would have eaten popcorn in the “good” living room and worried less about the dirt when you lit the fireplace. I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth. I would have burnt the pink candle that was sculptured like a rose before it melted while being stored. I would have sat cross-legged on the lawn with my children and never worried about grass stains. I would have cried and laughed less while watching television… and more while watching real life. I would have shared more of the responsibility carried by my husband which I took for granted. I would have eaten less cottage cheese and more ice cream. I would have gone to bed when I was sick, instead of pretending the Earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren’t there for a day. I would never have bought anything just because it was practical/wouldn’t show soil/was guaranteed to last a lifetime. When my child kissed me impetuously, I would never have said, “Later. Now, go get washed up for dinner.” There would have been more I love yous… more I’m sorrys… more I’m listenings… but mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute of it… look at it and really see it… try it on… live it… exhaust it… and never give that minute back until there was nothing left of it.” – Erma Bombeck

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

