Living Your Vision

“Living life in terms of your vision and working toward your goals must be done in the context of today’s activities. Do not focus too heavily on the results of your efforts. Do not live for the future attainment of your goal. Live your life through the lens of your vision and what can be done in the present moment. Living your vision is not about reaching your goals. It is about living and working toward them. It is not about producing results but about living your life in a more meaningful and personally rewarding way.” – Ari Kiev

Today is special. It is the only occurrence of this day in the history of the world. And here, Ari is encouraging us to embrace today as a way to work towards our goals as well as our vision of life. But most importantly, he reminds us that living our vision today is not about reaching the goals we set forth and seeing results, rather, it is about finding today personally meaningful and rewarding.

If we take a moment to look around ourselves “through the lens of our vision,” I am confident we will see things in a different light. Our children’s constant nagging and fussing perhaps will appear as an opportunity to spend time with them, to get to know them better–I love to have little talks with my daughters, they always seem to say the neatest things. Having to take some time out of our day for a friend will perhaps seem like a chance to spend some time with them. We know not the length of our life, nor the lives of those we love, so when we look through the lens of our vision, each day becomes a wonderful opportunity to spend more time with them.

The choices and attitudes we bring to the day constitute our experiences–good or bad. Thus, we each determine the quality of our life by how we approach each moment, each situation, of each day. If I act positively, and say positive things, others will most likely respond to me in a positive way. This goes a long way towards living our lives in a more personally rewarding way.

The activities of the day truly are of the greatest import. Do I work to add purpose into my life? Do I draw meaning and lasting value from each day I am here on this Earth? Did I spend my time where it mattered most today? Did I accomplish the things that today brought me? If I knew that I was going to die tonight, would I live this day any differently?

Try to find meaning in each of the moments of your day.

Questions to consider:

What is your vision and your goals? How can you live them in the context of today?

How can we better see through the “lens of our vision?”

What would you do if this were your last day on Earth?

For further thought:

“It’s not the length but the quality of life that matters to me. It has always been important to me to write one sentence at a time, to live every day as if it were my last and judge it in those terms, often badly, not because it lacked grand gesture or grand passion but because it failed in the daily virtues of self-discipline, kindness, and laughter. It is love, very ordinary, human love, and not fear, which is the good teacher and the wisest judge.” – Jane Rule

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

