Know Yourself!

“Know thyself and all will be revealed.” – Pamela Theresa Loertscher

When I watch a magician or an illusionist perform, I constantly wonder how each trick or act is accomplished. My mind begins to surmise my own thoughts on the mastery of their craft. Here, of course, Pamela does not mean that we can have the answers to all the questions on Earth. Instead, she is illustrating just how we can prepare ourselves to go in search of the answers we seek.

Knowledge of oneself is the pinnacle of all knowledge, for what is learned through self-discovery can be applied to all parts of life. Through it I can discover just who I am and what I am made of. I can confront past experiences–disappointments and regrets, wounds and hurt feelings, or things that have not been dealt with–and I can find healing and closure.

Additionally, the knowledge that I gain about myself will be ageless–it can stand the tests of time and will go on to benefit me for the rest of my life. Why do I shy away from confrontation? Why do I have a short fuse? Why do I tend to blame myself for everything bad that occurs?

Self-knowledge offers me comfort, for I know that I can trust myself. It offers me confidence, for I know what I can overcome. It offers me hope, for I know where I have been and where I can be. And it offers me purpose, for I know what I must do.

Take some time to look at your life through the eyes of someone else.

Questions to consider:

Can you think of some good things that have come through your own self-discovery?

What might our knowledge of ourselves reveal about life?

Do you know anyone who constantly struggles looking for answers in the wrong places? How might you help them find the right place?

For further thought:

“The great gift of a spiritual path is coming to trust that you can find a way to true refuge. You realize that you can start right where you are, in the midst of your life, and find peace in any circumstance. Even at those moments when the ground shakes terribly beneath you–when there’s a loss that will alter your life forever–you can still trust that you will find your way home. This is possible because you’ve touched the timeless love and awareness that are intrinsic to who you are.” – Tara Brach, True Refuge

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

