We Are Blessed To Be A Blessing!

“We are healed to help others. We are blessed to be a blessing. We are saved to serve, not to sit around and wait for heaven.” – Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life

At some point in our lives, the majority of us need healing. As a teenager, I know that I was in no position to be of much help to others, for I had many issues of my own, and very little perspective. But in looking back over the years of my life, I realize that I am in a much better position now to serve others who are in need–I am in a place where I am able to offer my help to those in need of healing, to be a blessing for those who need blessed. I can make a difference in the life of others who need it today.

I am given immeasurable ways in which I can help others to experience life in a much more positive way. Therefore, I find it helpful to ask myself each day, “How can I help someone else today?” Perhaps I can offer an encouraging word or a smile at the right moment, or maybe I can help with an important task. The simplest of gestures can go a long way in healing those in need.

And how can I help myself out today? Perhaps a few moments alone in silence will help me to restore my focus, or maybe a small gift to myself, like a dessert I love. Maybe I can help simply by finishing something that needs my attention. When we help ourselves, we help others because we are in a much better state of mind and much more prepared when our needs are met.

Do not get lost in the hustle and bustle of the day. Find yourself. Then when you are ready, help others. Give of your time and heart. Share in a deep conversation. This is what life is about.

Find a little bit of heaven by helping others.

Questions to consider:

How can you help yourself today? What needs should be met?

In what ways can you help others today? Whom can you help?

Is heaven something that we have to necessarily wait for, or is it here, if we choose to experience it? What are some ways in which you can experience it now?

For further thought:

“The way you treat people who are in no position to help you, further you, or benefit you reveals the true state of your heart.” – Mandy Hale, The Single Woman

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

