Recognising Opportunities

“People do with opportunities as children do at the seashore; they fill their little hands with sand, and then let the grains fall through, one by one, till all are gone.” – Thomas Jones

I can see myself as a child… filling my little hands so full of opportunity in life–school, sports, band, hobbies, the list goes on and on. But like the child Thomas speaks of, I let so many of these opportunities fall right through my hands. Most of us, unfortunately, can probably relate to this in some way.

Some of the biggest issues I have faced in life have come from failing to recognise opportunities (or seizing the wrong opportunities). At times, I simply did not see them until it was too late. Most of us are in that same boat–we have not been taught how to recognize the opportunities that come our way as opportunities, and so we squander those chances to make more of ourselves or to improve our lives. Of course, this is part of how we grow in life–by recognizing problems and doing something about them.

Then there are other times, however, that I chose to ignore opportunities because they required too much work or effort or seems too risky. I look back at these missed opportunities with regret, for they required a conscious choice on my part to let them fall through my hands.

Recognizing the opportunities I have missed, however, has allowed me to teach myself how to be aware of them and take advantage of them when I see them now. It has been a growing process, filled with reading good books, talking to wise individuals, and making personal changes in my life–changes in attitude and in habits. Sometimes things are outside of our control, but even if that is true, we still control our attitudes, our choices, and our reactions.

Take some time to look deeper at your life and the current opportunities that may be present.

Questions to consider:

Who have been your role models? Are they people who take advantage of opportunities? What have you learned from them?

Where can we learn things like recognizing opportunities and taking advantage of them? Why is it so rare that this is taught?

What does it take to smile at our bad breaks? Can you do so?

For further thought:

“When a great moment knocks on the door of your life, it is often no louder than the beating of your heart, and it is very easy to miss it.” – Boris Pasternak

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

