Live Life To The Fullest

“It’s good to have an end to journey toward, but it is the journey that matters in the end.” – Ursula K. LeGuin

Each of us is on a journey in life. And if we stop for a moment to reflect upon this journey, we may want to ask ourselves whether or not we are doing anything to ensure that we are making the most out of our journey, or are we so focused on the end that we are not able to enjoy the adventure that is our life.

When travelling, do I take the time to enjoy the scenery all around me? Do I talk with my wife and children during the hour flight and drive to my parent’s house, or do I just listen to music or continue doing something that could be done at another time? Do I make time in the day to interact with my children? Do I volunteer my time and service to others who need it? Or do I simply concentrate on finishing the day so that I can watch the TV? Life continues to go on, whether I allow myself to be present in the moments or not.

As a parent, I feel that the journey is extremely important, for that is where all the memories are created. Each moment I neglect is an opportunity to add to the beauty of my journey through life.

At this very moment, we are each on a journey. And our lives are filled with beautiful scenery, wonderful people, obstacles to learn from, rewards and new experiences to gain, and chances to grow. Are you enjoying your journey?

Live life to fullest today.

Questions to consider:

How do we start to get focused on the end rather than the journey? Does such a focus really help with anything?

What are some of the first steps you can take to make yourself aware of how your journeys is going at this moment?

What are some of the possible benefits of trying to improve the quality of your journey?

For further thought:

“The end is nothing; the road is all.” – Willa Cather

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

