Choose To Have A Positive Attitude Always

“You’re not going to make me have a bad day. If there’s oxygen on earth and I’m breathing, it’s going to be a good day.” – Cotton Fitzsimmons

I tend to enjoy perspectives such as Cotton’s here. For our happiness is truly dependent upon our attitudes in life. No one else has the power to ruin our day, unless of course, we give that power to them. I have experienced plenty of situations in which others have attempted to ruin my day. At first, I used to let them ruin it, and bring me down into a negative mood. I finally realized, however, that my awful feelings were not due to the actions themselves–they were simply my reactions to those actions. In other words, others made me make my own day miserable.

If you make me have a bad day, it is actually not you making the day bad. It is me. I have made a choice to let your words or your actions affect me. But the fact is that the world goes on, life goes on, and I go on. The question is, of course, how do I go on?

We are offered an amazing array of miracles every day that we are on this planet–oxygen to breathe, food to eat, water to drink, friends with which to pass time, music to listen to, words to read, and sights to see. With all that going for us, why would we let the words or actions of another person–a person who is probably acting or speaking out of fear or malice–turn a day into a negative experience? It simply does not make sense.

We do have a choice. And though it may be tough, it is possible to learn how to let things go, to let things pass us by. And when we learn how not to be affected strongly by the actions of others, we learn one of the most important lessons in life: how to determine our own attitude and perspective rather than simply reacting to someone else’s actions.

Choose to have a positive attitude today and keep it all day long.

Questions to consider:

Why is it so easy to react instead of act?

Why do we so often let others bring us down? What does that help?

How might we start to not let the actions of others affect us so strongly?

For further thought:

‘Each of us makes our own weather, determines the color of the skies in the emotional universe which we inhabit.” – Fulton J. Sheen

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

